Return to Headlines

National Honor Society 2022

The National Honor Society was formed in 1921.  Over one million students are estimated to participate in the National Honor Society. Since 1946, the National Honor Society has given out more than $15 million in scholarship awards.

Students who join Davies National Honor Society have a 3.75 GPA or higher, show leadership qualities, integrity, and are required to serve 20 service hours helping with different projects and Davies students far exceed those hours.



The National Honor Society Pledge

I pledge to uphold

The high purposes of the National Honor Society

to which I have been selected;

I will be true to the principles for which it stands;

And will maintain and encourage

High standards of scholarship, service, leadership, and character.

Congratulations to the 2021-2022 Officers!
 President Toren Kieon
 Vice President Meilin Quiroa
 Secretary Genesis Phillips
 Historian Megan Rawson
 Parliamentarian Sarah Capuano

Congratulations to those newly identified candidates!

Leyla Olivo
Aila Chin
Gabriella Wiggins
Jack Wreczychi
Sandra Gbemisola
Kelvin Tran
Christian Semedo
Karina Meija
Axcell Collins-Mena
Mariah Veveiros
Romina Florentino
Luisa Restrepo
Fatou Gaye
Marc Preira
Faizah Folarin
Taina Gonzalez
John Otele
Aissatou Male
Adria Labossiere
Wilbert Cante
Nour Abicha
David Cabreja
Megan Cobb
Fatima Shode
Maggie Smith
Isabella Amado
Liliana Gonzalez
Emily Benitez
Sandy Baptista
Jayden Monteiro
Leah Reis
Hailey Ortellado
Jada Rodriguez
Hellen Santos
Aliyah Viamontes
Rodilson Borges
Victoria DeLaCruz
Alexia Kay
Matthew Montepeque-Perry
Aliesh Rodriguez
Toluwani Akomolafe
Brendan Amorim
Kanz Giwa
Brianna Garcia
Ryan DeLeon Aguilar
Gabriela Rodriguez
Relena Trudel
Daniela Montoya
Noelle Babcock
Aspen Magill
Samantha Grullon
Aiden Cote
Jadrianny Baez-Estevez
Victoria Milian Morales
Julia Smith
Bridget Moats 
Adacelys Nichols
Joslyn Brown
Zaria-Lynn Campbell
Jayden Fortes
Emily Brauner
Jessica Flores Benitez
Carissah Bizzle
Krystal Cuello
Briana Monteiro
Jacqueline Arevalo
Sharon Oule
Elizabeth Tobon
Angela Mallywanga
Agifatou Aidara
Mia Joseph
Nakeisha Torres
Kiara-Lynn Pinto

National Honor Society of the Davies Chapter Selection Procedure Description 2021

The National Honor Society chapter of William M. Davies, Jr. Career and Technical High School is a duly chartered and affiliated chapter of this prestigious national organization. Membership is open to those students who meet the required standards in four areas of evaluation: scholarship, service, leadership, and character. Students are selected for membership by majority vote of a five-member principal-appointed faculty council, which bestows this honor upon qualified students on behalf of the faculty of our school each May.

Students in grades 10, 11, and 12 are eligible for membership. For the scholarship criterion, a student must have a cumulative GPA of 3.75 or better on a 4.0 scale. Each fall, those students who meet this criterion are invited to complete a Candidate Form that provides the faculty council with information regarding the candidate’s leadership and service. 

There are requirements that each candidate must fulfill as part of their candidate information form.  You must participate in at least two student activity and/or organizations and complete 12.5 hours of documented individual community service hours as well as 12.5 hours of group service hours each year for a total of 25 hours.

To evaluate a candidate’s character, the faculty council uses three forms of input. First, school disciplinary records are reviewed. Second, members of the faculty are solicited for input regarding their professional reflections on a candidate’s service activities, character, and leadership. Third, one faculty, from a core academic subject, and one outside/non-core faculty recommendation is required.

Any solicited faculty input, recommendations, and all Candidate Forms are carefully reviewed by the faculty council to determine membership. A majority vote of the council is necessary for selection. The recommended candidates for membership list is then sent for review by the director.  Candidates are notified regarding selection or non-selection according to a predetermined schedule.

Following notification, a formal induction ceremony is held at the school to recognize all the newly selected members. Once inducted, new members are required to maintain the same level of performance (or better) in all four criteria that led to their selection.