Return to Headlines

District Teacher of the Year - Lyle Nesse

Each year, teachers from across Rhode Island represent their individual LEAs as District Teachers of the Year.

Each District Teacher of the Year (DTOY) will serve as a liaison between the district and the RI Department of Education to share information about state initiatives, attend full and half day professional learning sessions focused on DTOY leadership, collaborate with DTOYs from across the state, and have the opportunity to apply to represent all Rhode Island educators as the 2024 State Teacher of the Year.

Congratulations to Mr. Lyle Nesse. His application won him the title of Davies' District Teacher of the Year.

Please join Mr. Nesse as he carries the torch at Waterfires: Salute to Educators on Saturday, September 30th. Activities begin at 5:30pm with sunset at 6:30pm.

Mr. Nesse with his family and Director WatkinsMr. Nesse being suprised with the news